Who can get a library card?
- All persons who reside or own property within Huerfano County shall be issued a New Patron that is associated with a 90 day probationary period. After 90 days, if the resident is in good standing, their card will change to a Resident Card with full borrowing privileges.
- Colorado Residents residing outside of Huerfano County, qualify for a Non-Resident card that has check out limitations.
- Library cards will be issued upon independently completing an application, and upon providing a photo ID, and proof of address.
- Those under the age of eighteen will be required to have a parent or guardian sign the application.
- At this time Spanish Peaks Library District is unable to offer library cards to individuals residing out of state.
All patrons must show valid identification in order to obtain or renew a library card.
Anyone can show one piece of identification if it is a CO state ID with a current address
|Examples of acceptable photo identification are:||Examples of acceptable proof of address are:|
**(e-bills included) dated within the last 3 months and matching the address on the application
Children (ages birth to 18) must have parental consent to obtain cards. A parent or guardian must accompany children that are applying for a library card. Parents/guardians can provide their own IDs if they do not have their children’s IDs.
Library Card Rules
- When you apply for a library card, you agree to return borrowed materials on time, pay overdue fees and assume responsibility for lost or damaged items.
- If your card is lost or stolen, call or stop by Spanish Peaks Library location to inform a staff member.
Spanish Peaks Library is a member of the AspenCat union catalog, giving you access to many more items, e-books, and other resources.
Login to your account via www.spld.org to view checkouts, renew online, place holds, and view your reading history. To login: Just type in the ENTIRE 14-digit number on your card. For all patrons, the password is your last name in lowercase letters.
- Spanish Peaks Library materials may be returned anytime – book drops are open 24 hours.
- Can’t make it to our library? – You can return your items to any library in the state of Colorado, and they will get them back to us.
Prior to the Item Due Date
- You will receive an Advanced Notice of Item Due 2 days before the due date if you have included an email in your library account.
- The day before the item is due, You will receive a Your Item is Now Due email.
- You can opt out of these notices – just ask
Item Not Returned by the Due Date
- If an Item is not returned by the due due, an overdue notice is sent by email.
- First Overdue Notice is sent 7 days after the Item is overdue.
- Second Overdue Notice is sent 14 days after the item is overdue.
- Third/ Final Overdue Notice is sent 21 days after the item is overdue
- If you do not include an email in your library account, you will receive a reminder phone call 7 to 14 days after the item is due
- 45 days after due date, the item status changes to Lost and your account is charged for the fines that have accrued and is charged for the item.
- 60 days after due date, the item may be sent to a collections agency, and additional fees assessed.
- Lost Library cards will be replaced for $2.00 to cover the cost of the laminated card.
- There will be a $15.00 service fee for checks returned by the bank to the Library due to Insufficient Funds. Patrons will be charged this fee in addition to the face amount of the check.